Kanazawa – Part II

I started the day by visiting Kenrokuen garden early in the morning. Apparently, it is better to visit the garden around 8 am as it is not as crowded and you get to take pictures without anybody photobombing it! I visited around 8 50 am and while it wasn’t very crowded, there were already lots of people and a few big tour groups there.

Plum blossoms

After spending about 35 minutes, I made my way to Kamazawa Castle park (Tip: there is a free guided tour at 9:30 am – 3:30 pm). I didn’t go into the castle, and decided to just roam around the area. 

I then made my way to the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art. I was actually really looking forward to this museum but upon arrival, I was disappointed to find out that they are in a middle of changing the exhibitions so most of the main areas are closed 😦

Was looking forward to this exibition 😦 – source: https://www.kanazawa21.jp

Lesson learnt: it pays to research properly before visiting an attraction. Oh well, I guess I just have to visit Kanazawa again 🙂

After the museum, I met up with my friends, M & G to visit Higashi Chaya district. Apparently there are geishas here but we didn’t see any (maybe we were too early). 

We visited one of the teahouses and had matcha toast, matcha tea and Japanese sweets. Japanese people sure know how to make super cute adorable sweets!!

That’s it from Kanazawa! Off to Osaka now 🙂

Till then, Kanazawa!
Leave a Reply

